Saddleworth Guest House
According to the beautifully carved stone lintel above the door,
the Farm at Lower Hill Top dates back to around 1746. Originally
built as an imposing family residence by the prominent local industrialists,
the Lees family, the house and out-buildings were
constructed to an exacting standard in both design and quality.
From the remains of a ‘water wheel’ used
to churn butter in the dairy, to a listed dry-stone wall used for
drying wool, we can gain a fascinating insight into the unique
and charming history of the Farm.
The journey to transform
The Shippon from a 'cow shed' to a stylish and contemporary accommodation was
conceived during the summer of 2005. Over the subsequent 12
months we have endeavoured to follow the philosophy of design and
quality set out by the Lees family.